BRING DAS VELO NACH HAUSE

One performer, one double bass player and three dead animals are strikingly reviving the space.

Chimera is a piece that deals with the subject of "the human beast". The performer will become a beast herself. In one moment a bird screeches, then a helpless rabbit huddles there, then the teeth of a wolf mangle all life - and frozen stands the deer with fear in its gaze. The leaves are crunching under the feet, trees are falling, the audience is taken on a journey to a world in which animal powers seem to be capable off anything.

Information

ARTISTIC DIRECTION:
Exequiel Barreras

PERFORMANCE: Hella Immler

LIVE MUSIK: Marc Jenny

LIGHT: Emilio H. Díaz Abregú

DURATION: about 20 minutes

PRODUCTION: Chimera / 2015

Performances

Premiere:
20. Dezember 2015,
Grabenhalle St.Gallen

Weitere Vorstellungen:
23. Februar 2016,
Grabenhalle St.Gallen

Media reports

(…) Rotes Velo takes the audience to another, mysterious, yet destroyed and fearful world.

St.Galler Tagblatt, 11th December 2015

Supported by

Naturmuseum St.Gallen

Company members

  • EXEQUIEL BARRERAS

    EXEQUIEL BARRERAS

    Artistic director / Choreographer / Performer

    was born in Cordoba/Argentina in 1984 and received his first dance and theatre lessons there. In 2001 the Julio Bocca and Chet Walker Foundation awarded him with a scholarship and one year later he became a member of the Ballet Contemporáneo del Teatro San Martín in Buenos Aires where he danced for 7 years. Since 2005 he has been working on his own pieces, which have been shown in Argentina, Germany, Switzerland, Poland and the USA. He works in Europe since 2009. After one season as a dancer at the Landestheater Coburg, he joined the Dance Company of the Theater St. Gallen, where he was engaged as a dancer, and temporarily as assistant to the company, from 2010 to 2014 under the direction of Marco Santi and from 2014 to 2017 under the direction of Beate Vollack. Since the season 2017/18 he is the choreographic assistant and rehearsal director of the Dance Company Konzert Theater Bern alongside Estefania Miranda. There he works with world-renowned choreographers such as Sharon Eyal, Jo Strømgren, Eduard Clug, Bryan Arias, Ihsan Rustem or Felix Landerer. In 2018 he choreographed the piece „My favourite song“ for the Dance Company. In 2011 he founded the ROTES VELO Kompanie with the need to bring artists from different fields together. He develops and explores innovative ways to blur the boundaries of dance, music and theatre. Since then the company has put on over 100 performances and creates one or two new productions every year. In 2016 the company was awarded by the city of St. Gallen "for the development and realisation of new, ambitious and high-quality projects". As artistic director and choreographer he collaborates and creates for productions in the independent scene and at theatres such as Theater St. Gallen, Theater Chur and Konzert Theater Bern.
  • HELLA IMMLER

    HELLA IMMLER

    Performer / Artistic director / Production manager

    Born in 1983 in Massat/France. She studied dance in Berlin and at the University of the Arts "ArtEZ" in Arnhem/Netherlands. In 2008 she became a company member at the Tanztheater Osnabrück/DE and from 2009 to 2014 at the Theater St. Gallen/CH. Amongst others she danced for the choreographers Anton Lachky, Jossi Berg & Oded Graf, Jozef Frucek & Linda Kapetanea. She teaches contemporary dance and leads the professional training in St.Gallen, Basel, Dornbirn and Cologne on a regular basis. She is also a teacher at the Conservatoire de Fribourg. Since 2009 she is leading courses in dance improvisation for people aged over 50. In 2011 she co-founded the ROTES VELO Kompanie and accomplished several productions as production manager and performer. She also produced the documentary "Tanz im Alter". From 2015 to 2017 she was responsible for the general management of the Tanzfest St.Gallen. She is as well a certified Yoga teacher. She works as a freelance dancer, project manager, dance and yoga teacher and as a hospital clown for the Theodora Foundation.
  • MARC JENNY

    MARC JENNY

    Musician

    After his bachelor's degree in classical music at the Lucerne University for Music, he completed his master's degree in the same place in 2014 "Music and Art Performance" at the Institute for Contemporary Music Studies. He focused on contemporary improvisation, interdisciplinary projects and computer music. As a double-bass and electric bass player he cultivates an intensive concert and studio activity in the most diverse musical contexts. With his broad experience and sensitive intuition, he gives special impulses in his own projects and as a player in various collaborations. His heartfelt playing and his fresh, enthusiastic stage presence also distinguish him. Marc Jenny operates in interdisciplinary contexts and combines music with literature, poetry slam, theatre, film, performance and dance. https://marcjenny.com
    PRODUCTIONS
    CHIMERA

BRING DAS VELO NACH HAUSE

Eine Performerin, ein Kontrabassist und drei tote Tiere beleben ergreifend den Raum.

Chimera ist ein Stück, das sich mit dem Thema «Das Tier im Menschen» auseinandersetzt. Die Performerin wird dabei selbst zum Tier, in einem Augenblick kreischt der Vogel, da kauert ein hilfloses Häschen, da zerfetzen Wolfszähne alles Leben – und starr steht das Reh mit Angst in den Augen. Das Laub knirscht unter den Füssen, Bäume fallen, die Zuschauer werden mitgenommen in eine Welt, in der die animalische Kraft zu allem fähig zu sein scheint.

Informationen

KÜNSTLERISCHE LEITUNG:
Exequiel Barreras

PERFORMANCE: Hella Immler


LIVE MUSIK: Marc Jenny


LICHT: Emilio Diaz Abregu


DAUER: etwa 20 Minuten


PRODUKTION: Chimera / 2015

Aufführungen

Premiere:
20. Dezember 2015,
Grabenhalle St.Gallen

Weitere Vorstellungen:
23. Februar 2016,
Grabenhalle St.Gallen

Medienberichte

(…) rotes Velo bringt den Zuschauer in eine andere, geheimnisvolle, aber auch zerstörte und angstvolle Welt.

St.Galler Tagblatt, 11. Dezember 2015

Unterstützung

Naturmuseum St.Gallen

Kompanie-Mitglieder

  • EXEQUIEL BARRERAS

    EXEQUIEL BARRERAS

    Künstlerische Leitung / Choreograf / Performer

    wurde 1984 in Cordoba/Argentinien geboren und erhielt dort seinen ersten Tanz- und Theaterunterricht. 2001 zeichnete ihn die Julio Bocca und Chet Walker Stiftung mit einem Stipendium aus, worauf er ein Jahr später Ensemblemitglied des Ballet Contemporáneo del Teatro San Martín in Buenos Aires wurde. Seit 2005 erarbeitet er eigene Stücke, die in Argentinien, Deutschland, Schweiz, Polen und den USA gezeigt wurden. Seit 2009 arbeitet er in Europa. Nach einer Spielzeit als Tänzer am Landestheater Coburg wechselte er in die Tanzkompanie des Theaters St. Gallen, wo er von 2010 bis 2014 unter der Leitung von Marco Santi als Tänzer, und zeitweise als Assistent der Kompanie, engagiert war und von 2014 bis 2017 unter der Leitung von Beate Vollack. Seit der Spielzeit 2017/18 ist er choreografischer Assistent und Probeleiter der Tanzcompagnie Konzert Theater Bern an der Seite von Estefania Miranda. Dort arbeitet er mit weltweit renommierten Choreografen wie Sharon Eyal, Jo Strømgren, Ihsan Rustem, Felix Landerer und choreografierte 2018 ein Stück für die Tanzcompagnie. 2011 gründete er die ROTES VELO Kompanie mit dem Bedürfnis Künstler unterschiedlicher Sparten zusammenzubringen. Er entwickelt und erforscht innovative Wege, um die Grenzen von Tanz, Musik und Theater zu verwischen. Seitdem zählt die Kompanie über 100 Vorstellungen und kreiert jährlich ein bis zwei neue Produktionen. 2016 wurde die Kompanie von der Stadt St. Gallen «für die Entwicklung und Realisierung von neuen, anspruchsvollen und qualitativ hochstehenden Projekten» ausgezeichnet. Als künstlerischer Leiter und Choreograf kollaboriert und kreiert er für Produktionen in der freien Szene und an Theatern wie Theater St. Gallen, Theater Chur und Konzert Theater Bern.
  • HELLA IMMLER

    HELLA IMMLER

    Künstlerische Leitung / Produktionsleitung / Performerin

    wurde 1983 in Massat/Frankreich geboren. Sie studierte Tanz in Berlin und an der Hochschule für Kunst Arnheim, ArtEZ in den Niederlanden. Ab 2008 war sie Ensemblemitglied am Tanztheater Osnabrück und von 2009-14 am Theater St.Gallen. Sie tanzte u.a. für Choreographen wie Anton Lachky, Jossi Berg & Oded Graf, Jozef Frucek & Linda Kapetanea. Sie unterrichtet zeitgenössischen Tanz und gibt regelmässig das Profitraining in St. Gallen, Basel, Dornbirn sowie in Köln und ist Dozentin am Conservatoire de Fribourg. Seit 2009 leitet sie Tanzimprovisationskurse für Menschen ab 50 Jahren. 2011 gründete sie die ROTES VELO Kompanie, mit der sie als Produktionsleiterin und Tänzerin viele Produktionen realisierte, sowie den Dokumentarfilm Tanz im Alter produzierte. 2015-17 war sie Gesamtleiterin für das Tanzfest St. Gallen. Sie ist eine ausgebildete Ashtanga und Vinyasa Yogalehrerin. Sie arbeitet als freischaffende Tänzerin, Projektleiterin, Tanz- und Yogalehrerin und bei der Theodora Stiftung als Kinderspitalclown.
  • MARC JENNY

    MARC JENNY

    Musiker

    Nach dem Bachelorstudium Klassik an der Hochschule Luzern – Musik schloss er 2014 gleichenorts das Masterstudium «Music and Art Performance» im Institut für «Contemporary Music Studies» ab. Die Schwerpunkte setzte er dabei bei zeitgenössischer Improvisation, interdisziplinären Projekten und bei Computermusik. Er pflegt als Kontra- und E-Bassist eine intensive Konzert- und Studiotätigkeit in unterschiedlichsten musikalischen Kontexten. Mit seiner breiten Erfahrung und sensiblem Gespür setzt er pointierte Impulse in eigenen Projekten und als Mitspieler in diversen Kollaborationen. Dabei zeichnen ihn auch sein herzhaftes Spiel und seine frische, enthusiastische Bühnenpräsenz aus. Marc Jenny agiert in interdisziplinären Kontexten und verbindet Musik mit Literatur, Poetry Slam, Theater, Film, Performance und Tanz.
    PRODUKTIONEN
    Chimera